More thought on Wisconsin’s new anti-puppy mill law

No Gravatar

I mentioned this topic briefly in a recent post. Wisconsin’s new anti-puppy mill bill went into effect June 1, as reported by FDLReporter.com.

Breeders that sell more than 25 dogs each year will be subject to a licensing system and regular inspections. Dogs will need to be housed in clean cages that allow them space to move around and that protect them from bad weather.

And daily exercise will be another requirement, along with good food and human contact. Puppies cannot be sold until they are at least 7 weeks old and have been examined by a vet.

Nothing wrong with ANY of these regulations – other than the fact that puppies should probably be around 10 weeks old before leaving their moms and siblings.  ALL of it is more than reasonable.

Yet, it seems some breeders are complaining. I look back over the regulations and I wonder how anyone can complain. But routinely we hear some breeders complain that reasonable minimum requirements for the care of dogs will lead to quality breeders forced out of business.

No – quality breeders already meet and exceed the minimum regulations.

And the story reports – “” The penalty for operating without a license would be up to a $10,000 fine and nine months in jail. Violating standards of care would be penalized with a fine up to $1,000 for the first offense and up to $2,000 for a second offense within five years. “”

I feel like a broken record at times on this puppy mill topic and even as I repeat that I feel like a broken record. But I feel it is important to keep this news in the headlines and to counter the misinformation with facts, every time the misinformation hits the news wires.

2 thoughts on “More thought on Wisconsin’s new anti-puppy mill law

  1. Wake up, Missouri! Wisconsin made a right move! Please do the same. As we voted into place…

  2. I agree, take a good look, you reps in MO, the people spoke and you didn’t listen before. Good choices for the animals in Wisconsin

Comments are closed.